Some of Us Are Looking at the Stars

So, I lied just a bit, I guess I do have a bit more to say today.

I’m sitting in my bed, watching the 1991 movie, “The Butcher’s Wife”, starring Jeff Daniels and a very blonde Demi Moore. The blonde really works for her, by the way.

Anyway, the movie starts with Demi Moore living on an island off the coast of the Carolinas, so somewhere off the southern part of the east coast.

Blah, blah, blah, none of that is important. The movie isn’t the point in the post, the point is that I decided to tell you all about a vision I have for myself.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I am rather afraid of the ocean. I don’t like the idea of not really know what’s ACTUALLY down there. I mean, not all of it has been completely discovered. I guess it’s mostly the whole “unknown” thing that scares me.

Regardless of that, I have always gotten this specific scene stuck in my head: A house on the beach, or on some kind of island, like where the witches live in the movie “Practical Magic” (Sandra Bullock, Nicole Kidman, and even Stockard Channing…). Somewhere that has an actual farmer’s market with locally grown produce, not stuff flown in from Mexico.

If I’m so afraid of the ocean, why in the world do I keep thinking I’m supposed to live right by the sea?

Maybe I’m supposed to write that into a book. Honestly, that might be exactly why it’s caught up in my brain.

Talking about moving to Tennessee with Jarrett after the whole Marine Corps thing sounds equally as wonderful, since Chattanooga has the farmer’s market on Sundays, places to hike and camp, bars/pubs (since we both quite enjoy the fire water), and BEAUTIFUL houses (not going to lie, I totally looked into the housing market there. Jarrett knows this, of course.) that really aren’t that expensive. Mind you, I haven’t been there yet, but he’s spent plenty of vacation time there since he was about fourteen. He’s swears up and down that I’ll love it, that I’ll never want to leave. We’re going there for a week in August and I’m stupidly excited.

I’m hoping that since the two major military bases in the country are in California and North Carolina, I’ll end up somewhere close to a beach and I can find out if all these ideas have any kind of merit. I’ve only ever been to the beach once (unless you count just stopping by on the way to Disney World when I was about six…) when I was sixteen. It was Orange Beach on the Florida/Alabama state line and it just seemed to be… Gray. Everything was gray and since I don’t eat seafood, I pretty much lived off of snack foods and grilled chicken salad, no matter what restaurant we went to. I’d like to have a better experience with a beach, like… My family’s timeshare includes Hawaii and Aruba, as well as many other very nice beaches. I’d very much so like to visit one of those, mostly Hawaii.

We’ll see what I can plan, when we’re not broke. I don’t intend on spending every single leave he ever gets in Arkansas, after all. I am DETERMINED to take real vacations, for us to spend time together, just the two of us, you know? I’m super family-oriented, but I’m also rather Jarrett-oriented, haha.

I figured that I’ve spouted off enough nonsense on this one. I hope this one was a bit more entertaining.

Here’s a quote from “The Butcher’s Wife” that I quite enjoyed.

“We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.”

Kylee

Leave a Reply

